The ACTU congratulates former President Sharan Burrow on being re-elected as General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation for another four-year term.

Sharan came to the ACTU after a career as a teacher and after serving in various positions in the Australian Education Union, where she was elected President in 1992.

Sharan was elected President of the ACTU from 2000 to 2010 serving alongside two Secretaries, Greg Combet and Jeff Lawrence.

Sharan was first elected General Secretary at the ITUC in 2010 and has led the international trade union movement through a period of immense change in the structure of the global economy.

During her time as President she has been a tireless advocate for the expansion of the rights of workers across the globe, continuing the work she began in Australia.


Quotes attributable to ACTU Secretary Sally McManus:  

“The ACTU and the Australian union movement congratulates Sharan Burrow on her re-election as General Secretary of the ITUC.

“Sharan has spent her working life in service of working people, not only in Australia but around the world.

“It is a great source of pride for Australian unionists to have one of our own serving working people in this key position. We look forward to working with Sharan over the next four years to change the rules so working people everywhere can have more job security, safer workplaces and better wages while reversing the destructive march of neoliberal economics.”